Undead Burg pt. 2

This is my fourth full diorama. We’re still in the undead burg, just a short distance ahead of where we left off. The scene shows a pyromancer, fireball at the ready, entering a room filled with hollow warriors. I decided to do another scene in the burg because I felt that I needed some practice making structures. I have been dreading my first attempt at making an actual building with walls, but with a strong enough foam-safe glue it was surprisingly easy. I didn’t exactly measure anything, and I was mostly working off of memory of how this area looks so there are some structural differences. I also added some extra furnishings that aren’t in the area in-game, to keep things looking more interesting for the diorama.

I’m quite happy with how this turned out. It was a lot of fun adding the little details to this scene, and I look forward to making more interiors in the future. The arched windows were cut out of foam by tracing the lid of a bottle of paint, and that’s about the extent of ‘measuring’ that I did on this. I spread some glue in certain areas on the walls and put down some brownish green flock, and then went over that again once it dried with some lighter green fine flock. I think this gives a decent enough mossy effect to everything

 

As usual I took a few work-in-progress photos while I was making this, in case anyone is interested to see that. In the photo with the miniatures you can see the (somewhat goofy) face that I painted onto the pyromancer. This is the first time I’ve attempted to paint facial details and I’m actually pretty happy with how it turned out.

More to come!

8 thoughts on “Undead Burg pt. 2

  1. With some delay I stumbled over this build in my WordPress feed and I love what I see. The diorama (could be used as an encounter module, too, for D&D) is well realized and I especially enjoy the attention to detail. The small wall mounted shelf holding urns and a skull really sets the tone: A defunct study or maybe even living quarters of somebody dabbling into the arcane (Where are the urns from, if I may ask?) The half finished meal on the table (the food long spoiled) adds another story element: The former inhabitants of this humble abode had to leave in a hurry. Why did they abandon this place? The barrel and crate suggest a new use as storage, so maybe the characters we see just found this place and now explore its decrepit rooms. As you can see, the diorama engages the viewer with all these hints to a background story, which adds realism and shows that you carefully thought about the scene arrangement.

    The build itself is well constructed, with stone and moss featuring realistic colouration, avoiding stark contrasts. I think that adds even more to the atmosphere: A desolate place with only ghosts and faded memories remaining. I think it is a cool detail to have one of the doors on a corner of the room. I could see this part leading to a balcony or patio, but it appears it goes to the round path of the castle.

    The face of the Pyromancer turned out well. The eyes are well rendered and I also like that you painted the teeth.

    Some suggestions:

    – Adding some soil or dry pigments to depict dust and debris would add further realism.
    – Some brushes or moss growing between tiles would also add interest to the build and break up the grey of the tiled floor.
    – You could also add some fallen leaves on the round path to delineate outside from inside.
    – I think the slightly irregular shape of the archways works very well, but I wonder if some further texturing to show that they are not made out of one piece would further enhance realism.
    – Finally, you could add some critters. Maybe a rat under the table nibbling on some cheese or a bird outside on one of the crenellations.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your comment, I really appreciate all of your points. And I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed looking at this. You’ve got some great ideas to add a little extra detail; I’ll definitely keep that in mind for my future projects. I’ve wondered… how do people make fallen leaves? Is there a material that works best? Because I do agree that it makes certain scenes look brilliant.

      Again, thank you for your thoughtful response. I will take what you said to heart and use it to improve 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are very welcome. For some ideas how to make fallen leaves (and how each of them looks) search my blog for: “Unrested Souls” a Graveyard Terrain Tutorial, “Of ruins old – Reaper Bones Anirion Wood Elf Wizard”, I used leaves on his base and “In a Forest Darkly”, a yew tree tut. I can think of three different products/materials that I use frequently:

        1. Birch seed pods. These are very good for 28mm scale and looks a bit like maple leaves. You can “harvest” them from a birch tree and remove the actual seed to get the pod. You can also colour these immersing them in washes. This is how I got the autumnal look on Anirion’s base.

        2. Dried tea. I recommend Rooibos, due to the colloration and texture, but other teas may work, too. Drink a cuppa and put the wet ta on a plate. let dry and use on your models. Seal with varnish. I used it on the yew tree scenic bases.

        3. If you use Mini Natur foliage nets (they make excellent ivy by the way) some of the small scale leaves will fall off. Collect these and add them to your model. The big advantage is that they are actually shaped like the proper tree species: Oak, Maple, Birch etc. so you can achieve superior realism.

        I hope these pointers help. Happy gaming!

        Like

      2. Awesome, thanks for that. I need to give these a try for one of my next projects. The tea idea is really clever! Also I just noticed the question about the urns. They’re Reaper: bones. They make some nice cheap stuff. I remember seeing your crypt and loving some of your ideas for detail. I think you used beads for a similar effect right? I want to try that myself if I may…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sure thing.

        I was tempted by the Dungeon Dressings in their last Kickstarter, but I am still working through the first one. I love Bones for conversions. Some sculpts are a bit dated or did not work in the material, but overall they are excellent value and really made me much more relaxed when converting stuff.

        Baudea also makes some nice 15mm and 28mm amphorae, but they work great as urns.

        Like

Leave a Reply

